Sunday, October 21, 2012


The 2012 edition of Nigeria’s only remaining comprehensive music awards held at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos on Saturday, October 20. It was hosted by Chocolate City rapper, M.I Abaga and past West African Idol runner-up, Omawumi Megbele.
A total of 20 awards were given out for songs and recordings by Nigerians within the period of March 2011 to February 2012. Except for one category, African Artist of the Year which went to Ghana’s Sarkodie for the song, “Azonto”.
Afro Beat icon and son of the late Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Femi, was the sole inductee into the Headies Hall of Fame.
Young upcoming artist, Wizkid, won what is arguably the biggest prize of the evening – the Artist of the year. He also won the Revelation of the Year.
But Davido’s brand new Hyundai Sonata for the Next Rated would rival that. Song of the Year went to D’banj’s Oliver Twist while the awards for the Best Pop Album and Album of the Year were won by P-Square’s Invasion.
P-Square’s video for Chop My Money which featured US pop star, Akon and directed by their elder brother, Jude Okoye, also won the Best Music Video. The Okoye brothers were the highest winners of the night with three awards altogether.
The ladies were not left out as Tiwa Savage won the Best Female Vocal Performance with her song, I’m in Love.
Headies 2012 also had some mock-awards. Banky W wasn’t among the nominees but he beat off competition from Audu Maikori of Chocolate City and Obi Asika of Storm Records to win the award for the Best Label Head. Tonto Dike and Vic-O won the award for the Best “Collabo” for a suspected future collaboration.
But the award for the Best Remix which went to P-Square for remixing Timaya’s Shake Your Bum Bum to Alingo didn’t really come in good taste.
There were performances by Burna Boy and Dammy Krane. Burna had an awkward fall off the stage during this performance but climbed back up seemingly unhurt to the relief of the audience. Eva also delivered a choreography spiced up performance before Davido came up for an emotionally laden show. Brymo also performed.
The E.M.E crew of a hat-less Banky W, Wizkid, Skales, Shadee and Niyola then wrapped up the performances of the night.
Verve, one of the sponsors of the event presented a N500, 000 cheque to a lucky member of the audience with ticket number: 0001783.
Speaking at the end of the event, Animashaun thanked God for another successful event. “Without God we won’t be able to hold an event of this magnitude every year,” he said.
“There are times it looks like we can’t make it, but we still manage to pull it off every year. We are committed to maintain this awards ceremony and the standard it has set for many more years to come.”
He enumerated the importance of a credible music award in the fast developing Nigerian music industry. “The young artists who have dedicated themselves to this industry need to be rewarded,” he said.
“There would be a sense of unfulfillment if at the end of a year of season, nothing is done to encourage the development of the industry. An award like this puts Nigeria on the world map and in line with international standards.
“The major challenges have been that of budget. We always need to up the ante and this costs a lot. So we are always on the upward swing but we work hard and God blesses our work,” he said.
The Headies was formerly known as the Hip Hop World Awards. It is organised by Smooth Promotions owned by Mr Ayo Animashaun the publisher of Hip Hop World Magazine.
It has been on for seven years and has outlasted other awards established for the recognition of Pop, Hip Hop and other contemporary music genres.  Below is a full list of the winners:

1.       Best RnB: May D – Ile Ijo
2.       Best Pop Single: Iyanya – Kukere
3.       Best Rap Single: Vector – Angeli
4.       Best Street Hop: Chuddy K – Gaga Crazy
5.       Best RnB Pop Album: P-Square – Invasion
6.       Best Rap Album: Ice Prince – Everybody Loves Ice Prince
7.       Best Vocal Performance (Male): Wande Coal – Private Trips
8.       Best Vocal Performance (Female): Tiwa Savage – Love Me Love Me
9.       Best Collaboration: Sound Sultan ft., Flavour – Orobo
1.   Revelation of the Year: Wizkid
1.   Recording of the Year: Brymo – Ara
1.   Producer of the Year: Tee-Y Mix – Super C Season (Naeto C)
1.   Lyricist on the Roll: Vector
1.   Next Rated: Davido
1.   African Artist of the Year: Sarkodie – Azonto
1.   Best Music Video: Jude Okoye – Chop My Money remix
1.   Album of the Year: P-Square – Invasion
1.  Song of the Year: D’banj – Oliver Twist
  . - Artist of the Year: Wizkid
2-Hall of Fame: Femi Kuti

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please drop your comments here...